Tinder is testing out a “share” button that lets you send someone’s Tinder profile to a friend. This feature is definitely as easy as taking a screenshot of a profile.

The company has described this as a chance for you to play the matchmaker. After you share the profile, your friend will have the option that allows him to swipe “yes” or “no” on the suggested profile. Then he will have to wait to see if the match is made.

Tinder has made the confirmation that the links to the profiles can be shared only via text messages. Though, the feature may have previously included integration with other messaging apps like WhatsApp and GroupMe, according to MEL. You also have the option of copying and pasting the links and sending it to your friends via any other platform. However, Tinder states that the link will expire after 72 hours or 5 clicks – whichever comes first.

For those of you who are wondering about how this feature will actually work, here is a brief explanation. If you come across someone’s Tinder profile from your extended social circle, who you don’t know that well, but you remember that your friend may be interested in him or her, now, you will not need to call up your friend to come on Tinder immediately and swipe continuously for indefinite time periods to access the account. You can just text the link to the profile and let the magic happen.

Furthermore, you might also think that this is an invasion of privacy and gives people the power to share your profile, however, don’t forget that this can happen without the latest feature as well. All the user needs to do is take a screenshot, where he can still find your profile, with some additional difficulty.

If you are still worried, you can opt out of a shareable profile from Tinder settings.

LEAVE A REPLY